Terry R Richardson
         Senior Instructor, Dept. of Physics and Astronomy

yyy







Classes & Office Hours          Links          Memberships          Research Interests           Telescope Handbook
zz
randolph hall
APOD          Space.com          Spaceweather          Phys.Org/Space          Universe Today       Spaceflight Now         






Schedule HONS 160 Lab Spring Thursday 2087  4–7 PM

prof's cell: 843-670-7878









Lab Day Date Lab Topic
Lab Quiz Assignment
Bring to Lab1


Thu
11-Jan
  First day of classes. No lab for our section this week.




1

Thu
18-Jan
Electromagnetic Spectrum
The Winter Sky
(bring laptops & smart phones)
no quiz this week
Get one of these by lab time:  1) Android app Sky View Free,   2) iOS app (iPhone or iPod or iPad) Sky View Free  3) The star map in the bookstore by David Chandler


2

Thu 25-Jan Index of Refraction
Galileo's Telescope
optics terms
read handout before lab
pencils


3

Thu 1-Feb Special & General
Relativity
relativity terms
read handout before lab laptop


4

Thu 8-Feb Particle Physics
& Unification
particle physics
terms
read handout before lab


5

Thu 15-Feb





6

Thu 22-Feb





7

Thu 1-Mar





8

Thu
8-Mar





9

Thu 15-Mar





10

Thu 29-Mar





11

Thu 5-Apr





12

Thu 12-Apr





13

Thu
19-Apr
Makeup Lab












1Number code for items to bring for lab: 1 = textbook, 2 = laptop or flash drive to save files from lab computer.  Always bring your notebook and writing device, especially pencils.


prof's cell: 843-670-7878

lab safety pages

telescope handbook

syllabus

schedule

lab best practices 

measuring lengths



Google Sky