Terry R Richardson
         Senior Instructor, Dept. of Physics and Astronomy

yyy







Classes & Office Hours          Links          Memberships          Research Interests           Telescope Handbook
zz
randolph hall
APOD          Space.com          Spaceweather          Phys.Org/Space          Universe Today       Spaceflight Now         






Schedule HONS 159 Lab Fall Wednesday 2017  4–7 PM

prof's cell: 843-670-7878









Lab Day Date Lab Topic
Lab Quiz Assignment
Bring to Lab1


Wed
23-Aug
  First day of classes. No lab for our section this week.




1

Wed
30-Aug
The Celestron Telescope
(lab is weather dependent)
Tele Handbook sec 2, pp. 1-5 & sec 4, p. 7
Celestron parts list

smartphone, iPod or iPad


2

Wed 6-Sep The Celestial Sphere celestial sphere
glossary

look over Ch. S1,
read sec S1-2
textbook is helpful




Wed 13-Sep Hurricane Irma

your device with sky app or starmap


3

Wed 20-Sep Lecture Followup




laptop or
paper


4

Wed 27-Sep field trip to Brittlebank or
Celestial Globe II
lab is weather dependent
Get one of these by lab time:
1. Android app Sky View Free,
2. iOS app (iPhone or iPod or iPad) Sky View Free
3. The star map in the bookstore by David Channler
your device with sky app or starmap

5
Wed 4-Oct Equatorial Coordinate
System





6
Wed 11-Oct Patterns in our
Solar System
planet formation
glossary
bring your textbook &
a way to search online




7

Wed
18-Oct The Lunar Surface
xxx
lunar features description
lab terms
bring your textbook &
a way to search online




8

Wed 25-Oct Documentary movie:
Albatross by Chris Jordan
At the Charleston Music Hall



write a review
Due Nov. 1





9
Wed 1-Nov Greenhouse Effect






10
Wed 8-Nov Trip Preparation
Asteroid and Comet Impact Energies

shoemaker

drops on sand 



11 Wed 15-Nov




Wed
22-Nov
Thanksgiving Break





12 Wed 29-Nov













1Number code for items to bring for lab: 1 = textbook, 2 = laptop or flash drive to save files from lab computer.  Always bring your notebook and writing device, especially pencils.


prof's cell: 843-670-7878

lab safety pages

telescope handbook

syllabus

schedule

lab best practices 

measuring lengths



Google Sky