Terry R Richardson
         Senior Instructor, Dept. of Physics and Astronomy

yyy







Classes & Office Hours          Links          Memberships          Research Interest          Telescope Handbook
zz
randolph hall
APOD          Space.com          Spaceweather          Phys.Org/Space          Universe Today       Spaceflight Now         







 HONS 159 Schedule  Fall 2017

xx
prof's cell: 843-670-7878

Week Day Dates This Week Links            

1

Wed

23-Aug
Introduction, first demo




Fri

25-Aug read & make notes Bennett Chs 1 & 2
videos to watch by Mon. class:
CCA#1 Intro to Astro,   CCA#2 Naked Eye Obs,     
CCA#3 Cycles in the Sky,     


2
Mon

28-Aug We will work all of this week from Ch 2
Voyager I time   Jon Nguyen NASA eyes  
Carter Emmart TT   SS Model in Desert      



Wed
30-Aug
lecture usurped for lab prep–how to setup a telescope
Diurnal Motion ESO  



Fri

1-Sep Worksheets on lunar phases & eclipses
CCA#4 Moon Phases   CCA#5 Eclipses  
TeachAstro 2.00–2.18      


3

Mon

4-Sep
practice questions Chs. 1 & 2, begin Ch. 3 topics the science of astronomy





Wed

6-Sep Lecture: What is Round & Runs in Circles





Fri

8-Sep Hurricane Irma




4

Mon 11-Sep Hurricane Irma



Wed

13-Sep
Hurricane Irma



Fri

15-Sep taking stock–where are we?
PBS fact theory law       
Padian peer review     
retrograde motion      Ptolemy's Universe-cool  
Flat Earth Society    
logical fallacies UNC    notes Ancients part 1     
notes Ancients part 2    99 years of astro      


5

Mon

18-Sep scientific models
VR science/creationism   Padian peer review  
Padian fact/theory   TE theory law 
 Dawkins one fact        PhD prostitutes    creating science doubt     


Wed

20-Sep



Fri

22-Sep



6

Mon

25-Sep Test #1, Chs. 1 & 2
test topics page  



Wed

27-Sep




Fri

29-Sep




7
Mon 2-Oct



Wed
4-Oct



Fri 6-Oct



8
Mon 9-Oct



Wed
11-Oct



Fri 13-Oct



9
Mon 16-Oct
A

Wed
18-Oct


Fri 20-Oct



10
Mon 23-Oct


Wed
25-Oct


Fri 27-Oct



11
Mon 30-Oct



Wed
1-Nov


Fri 3-Nov



12
Mon 6-Nov


Wed
8-Nov


Fri 10-Nov



13
Mon 13-Nov


Wed
15-Nov


Fri 17-Nov



14
Mon 20-Nov


Wed
22-Nov Thanksgiving Holiday


Fri 24-Nov Thanksgiving Holiday


15
Mon 27-Nov


Wed
29-Nov



Fri 1-Dec



16
Mon
4-Dec Last Day of Classes


Tues
5-Dec Reading Day
No professor is allowed to give an exam on this day. It is time guaranteed for your exam preparation. Some cheaters among us will schedule an exam anyway for their own convenience. 

Fri
8-Dec Final Exam     4–7 PM in our classroom HWWE 112




Be safe in your travels over the holidays.


Planet Project Page

course philosophy


syllabus


schedule


concepts

formula page


test topics


important numbers



Google Sky


TRR's LINKS