Terry R Richardson
         Senior Instructor, Dept. of Physics and Astronomy

yyy







Classes & Office Hours          Links          Memberships          Research Interests          Telescope Handbook
zz
randolph hall
APOD          Space.com          Spaceweather          Phys.Org/Space          Universe Today       Spaceflight Now         






Schedule ASTR 130 Lab sec 04 Fall 2017 Thursday 4–7 PM

prof's cell: 843-670-7878




zzz
zzz
zzz

Lab Day Date Lab Topic
Lab Quiz Assignment
Bring to Lab1


Thu
24-Aug
  First week of classes. No lab for our section this week.



1
Thu
31-Aug
Blackbody &
Emission Spectra
Get the lab manual
at Sas-E Ink– have it on 8/31 & get a 100 on
this weeks lab quiz
read over Lab #1
Nebraska Planck Curves
check out link above-it is really quite good
1, 3


2

Thu 7-Sep Basic Optics: Reflection
& Refraction
quiz is cancelled
optical terms

2

3 Thu 14-Sep Make Your Own
Telescope?????
telescope terms
read over the lab online
LINK
laptop or flash drive


4

Thu 21-Sep The Inverse Square
Law for Light ?????
brightness terms
read over the lab online
LINK



5

Thu 28-Sep HR Diagram   star terms 
read HR Diagram Lab
Ch 4 in the Lab manual

1, 3



6

Thu 5-Oct





7

Thu 12-Oct Spectral Class spectra terms




8

Thu
19-Oct special assignment in
 lab this week
only for our section





9

Thu 26-Oct SS Boo
Spreadsheet tips



10

Thu 2-Nov





11

Thu 9-Nov The Crab Nebula





12

Thu 16-Nov Galaxy Classification




13 Thu 23-Nov Distance to the SMC &
Small Magellanic
Cloud











lab report
links

writing a lab report

lab report tips SS Boo

submission instructions


1Number code for items to bring for lab: 1 = textbook, 2 = laptop or flashdrive to save files from lab and 3 = lab manual.  Always bring your notebook and writing device, especially pencils.


lab safety pages

syllabus

schedule

lab best practices 

measuring lengths


Google Sky